Introduction

¡Hola a todos! As a 4th year medical student , I just got through a long and grueling residency interview season.

In Miami Int. Airport, on my way!

In Miami Int. Airport, on my way!

Despite traveling non-stop over the past few months, I am in fact sitting in the Miami airport at this very moment, traveling yet again. I’m on my way Quito, Ecuador to participate in a six-week program with Child Family Health International (CFHI), a nongovernmental organization that specializes in providing medical students and residents with global health education programs. I’ll be participating in their Urban and Rural Comparative Health Program, which for me will involve three weeks of clinical rotations in Quito, Ecuador (the capital and Ecuador’s second largest city) and three weeks in Chone (a more rural village close to the Pacific coast).

I chose to go abroad through CFHI for several reasons, including their commitment to providing opportunities that are socially responsible and financially just, as well as aspects specific to my program. I was fortunate enough to receive a scholarship from CFHI, part of which includes blogging about my experience in Ecuador. I’m very grateful that the scholarship includes this blog, because if left to my own devices, I would probably not record or share my experiences in such detail. More importantly, I am thankful for this opportunity to experience the practice of medicine outside of the US, to gain intimate knowledge of the Ecuadorian healthcare system, and to work alongside and learn from healthcare professionals in Ecuador. I have an interest in global health, and I know my time in Ecuador will be an invaluable experience as I pursue my future career.

Well, that was a more lengthy intro than I was planning and my flight is boarding in just a few minutes (and I need time to grab a Frosty before I head out!), so I’ll sign off for now. Stay tuned for more posts over the next few weeks!

Leave a comment