There and Back Again

March 11, 2013

img_1649

Hello, all. I just got back to St. Louis from Quito this afternoon. I can’t believe it’s already been six weeks.

I spent my last week in Quito at the Maternidad, which is part of the complex of clinics and hospitals where I spent my first week there. I had the opportunity to see numerous births and a couple C-sections. It was very interesting to see how childbirth is managed in Ecuador versus the US.

The biggest difference I noted is that, at least during my medical training, everything is much more private in the US. In Maternidad, there are several rooms in the birthing wing, and patients are divided based on stage of labor and clinical picture. For example, all women waiting to go into active labor are together in “Dilatación.”

I didn’t have Spanish class this week, so my afternoons were free to explore some more of Quito. My friend Emily (another CFHI student) and I went to the Basilica, which was definitely one of the coolest things I saw in Quito. Instead of traditional gargoyles, the basilica is adorned with figures of native Ecuadorian wildlife, including frigate birds, blue-footed boobies, and caiman. We spent another afternoon at the artisanal market in Quito, where I was able to buy most of my souvenirs for myself, friends, and family.

img_1745For my last weekend in Ecuador, I went to Baños again with all the other CFHI students, most of whom just arrived last weekend. It was really great to see Baños again. Tunurghua, the volcano in Baños, became active again a few days before our trip. I was hoping to see some lava or at least smoke, but it was too cloudy the whole time we were there. However, just as I was saying goodbye to my CFHI friends, an arco iris appeared in the sky over the city. It was a pretty nice parting gift.

After a 3-5 hour bus ride, a few hours of sleep, and a couple plane flights, I made it back to St. Louis to be greeted by balmy Midwestern March weather. It is great to be back in the US, but also a little strange. I had a wonderful time in Ecuador and am so thankful for the opportunity to experience the culture and practice of medicine in this beautiful country.

Leave a comment